Good. Better. Regional.

Newsletter 25/2013 - Activities in brief

5 years of Regional Cooperation Council marked in Sarajevo

The Regional Cooperation Council (RCC) marked its 5th anniversary with a panel discussion and an award for best achievement in cooperation in South East Europe in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, on 27 February 2013.

The discussion Five years of Regional Cooperation Council: Building on foundations and embracing new challenges focused on achievements and future challenges of regional cooperation in South East Europe.

On this occasion, the RCC Secretariat inaugurated annual award for best achievements in cooperation in South East Europe, Champion of Regional Cooperation. The first laureate for the year 2012 is the Central European Free Trade Agreement – CEFTA 2006. The award was presented to Renata Vitiez, Director of CEFTA Secretariat, by the RCC Secretary General, Goran Svilanovic. 

Special acknowledgements for dedication to the region and promotion of regional cooperation in South East Europe were awarded to Hido Biscevic, first Secretary General of the Regional Cooperation Council, and to Erhard Busek, former Special Coordinator of the Stability Pact for South Eastern Europe.

The panellists and special guests included: Goran Svilanović, RCC Secretary General; Zlatko Lagumdžija, Deputy Chair of the Council of Ministers/Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bosnia and Herzegovina; Ivan Naydenov, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs, Bulgaria; Vlado Misajlovski, State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Chair-in-Office of the South-East European Cooperation Process (SEECP) in 2012-2013; Radu Podgorean, State Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Romania, incoming Chair-in-Office of the SEECP; Vera Mavrić, State Secretary at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Serbia, preceding Chair-in-Office of the SEECP; Kieran Dowling, Ambassador of Ireland to Slovenia, Croatia, and Bosnia and Herzegovina, for the Irish Presidency of the Council of the European Union; and Stefano Sannino, Director General for Enlargement of the European Commission.

The Regional Cooperation Council was established in Sofia on 27 February 2008. It promotes mutual cooperation and European and Euro-Atlantic integration of South East Europe in order to inspire development in the region to the benefit of its people.